Monday, February 14, 2011

Weekend

These past few days have been so busy!! On Friday, Hannah and I went to Ses Illetes beach again. Who wouldn't want to spend their day in paradise? We walked around for a while during the afternoon to kill time and enjoy the sunshine. We were planning on going out after dinner, but all 3 of decided we would rather go to sleep. I know, so exciting, right?
Saturday, my Vandy friends went on a hike to a castle for the entire day. It sounded awesome, but I just don't think I could physically do that yet. I need to walk around the city to get more acclimated to all this walking! So, I did something I wouldn't usually do back home. I messaged a girl that I met on the train last week to see what she was up to. (this act was way more outgoing than I usually am.. it surprised me a bit) She invited me to go to the nearby beach with some of the other people in her program during the afternoon. Of course I gladly accepted. We walked down there and ended up meeting up with other people that they knew from another program at UIB that hosts students from all over the world. Well, mostly, Chelsea and I just watched them do things since we both are taking the laid-back Spanish lifestyle to heart. It got a little chilly, so we decided to go shopping. We went to a bunch of stores and eventually headed home for dinner and agreed to make plans to go out later. I was so excited for this! I haven't gone out here at all, except for that one time drinking cava in front of the cathedral, but there were only 3 of us then. After a brief nap and a Skype date, I headed to meet them at 11:30pm to start our festivities. There were about 7 of us in the group, and I knew most of the people (and actually really like them.. shocking, right?) from earlier on the beach, except for one other international student from Sweden. We went to the little store where I usually buy kinder eggs to get some cheap alcohol to start the night with. I got a 5 euro bottle of wine which was decent for being so cheap. There was some party on the street I live on that everyone wanted to go to, so we headed that way. We walked for a long time to find the party, and when we got there, we sat outside on a step and drank. I thought it was pretty funny that we were searching for this place, and when we finally found it, we didn't even go in immediately haha. So we sat outside and drank a moderate amount of alcohol. It's so weird that you can drink on the streets here and no one cares. I was pretty much done drinking at that point, as I was at a comfortable level. We went inside the party for maybe 20 minutes. We had no idea what was going on, because it was like a single/not single party, and everyone had a number. It was weird. Well, then Shaka, the Swedish guy, decided to buy us all shots of tequila. This is when my night began to get crazy. I was fine at first, but I will never drink liquor again. We took a taxi down to paseo (where all the clubs are) because it was too far to walk. We went into some bar there and danced for a long time. [Sidenote: Shaka's phone rang, and his ringtone is MMMbop. I laughed for so long and explained to him how they are my favorite band and told him to listen to their new cd. best thing ever.] I was okay until Shaka bought this giant mystery drink with a billion straws. I can't say that I remember much after having a few sips from that drink. Let's just say I will only be having a beer or two or a glass of wine or two from now on when we go out haha. I learned my lesson.
Today, I pretty much slept the whole day and ate a lot of food and drank a lot of water.
Real classes start tomorrow! I am excited [nerd]. I have some weird class that I'm not even sure what it's about called intro to the study of Spanish lexicography, but it's with my program director so it's okay. :) Then I have Women & Literature with about 5 other American students that I know haha. This week, I only have classes on Monday and Tuesday.. what the heck. (Lots of beach time for me!!!) Normally, I will only have classes Monday, Tuesday, and one on Thursday afternoon. I could get used to this. :)
Even though I slept pretty much all day, I am tired.
Goodnight, world.
-Lynne

No comments:

Post a Comment