Friday, February 18, 2011

Wednesday and Thursday

Wednesday wasn't too exciting. I didn't have class, so I slept in and was lazy.. very lazy. I didn't leave the house until about 5pm to walk around with Hannah. At 8pm, I went to a pre-birthday dinner for one of the HC girls at her casa. It was so much fun! She and her madre made delicious Spanish food.. and the cake and ice cream were pretty incredible.
Today was a little more exciting. Chelsea, Hannah, and I went on a walk around 3pm to the oceanfront (in front of the Cathedral). There was obviously a storm blowing in, because the waves were incredible!! I have never seen such beautiful waves. They would crash on the rocks and lightly mist us. We watched waves for at least an hour, until the sun was covered by clouds and it got crazy windy and cold super fast. That was probably one of my most favorite things I have done here so far. After that, we went to C'an Juan d'Saigo for treats. I had cava (champagne) flavored ice cream. It was delicious, but it reminded me of Smarties candies. Their almond ice cream is definitely the best I've had there so far. I also must note that we *almost* found it without having to ask for directions. We were really close and asked a woman just before we reached it. (We never can find the place. It is so hidden.) We went home and rested before our big dinner tonight. We all rode a bus together to a little town on the outskirts of Palma for a dinner with our program directors. It was Vandy people, HC girls, and some CIEE girls we invited too. One of our directors couldn't make it, so just my grammar teacher was there. Yes, we go to restaurants with our grammar teacher for fun. Anyway, it was awesome, because Vandy and HC basically paid for it all. Well, it probably came out of our tuition somewhere, but it was fun to be able to have a dinner with all my new friends and not pay anything! The food was quite delicious. We had bread with olive oil first, then calamari, then Brittany and I shared paella ciega ("blind paella" aka they take all the bones and heads and tails off). It was so yummy!! We had some delicious sangria also. :) It was also Kendra's birthday, so we had perhaps the best blueberry cheesecake I have ever had. We talked a lot about traveling, and I am so excited to travel!! I am also excited to have people to travel with. I am really getting the traveling bug.. We are thinking of going somewhere next weekend.
One of the best parts of tonight was after dinner. My prof drove the HC girls back, because his car couldn't hold all of us. So we went to the bus stop (around 11:30pm) and the sign said it would be about 45 minutes until the next bus.. and it started raining. So we all huddled under the shelter and talked and played games. We kept watching the countdown on the screen. Suddenly, it jumped from 20 minutes to 3 minutes, and we got so excited! It quickly dropped to 1 then had some arrows flashing like it was about to arrive. We were so happy that it was coming!! We saw it drive over the hill and.... THEN THE DRIVER TURNED ON THE "OUT OF SERVICE" SIGN AND KEPT GOING. Seriously. We were waving and screaming and standing at the stop, and he looked at us and kept going. I could punch that guy. So after standing around looking at each other's "wtf" faces and yelling a little, we headed back to the restaurant to ask them to call a cab. We had to get 2 cabs, because there were 6 of us. They arrived shortly after and we headed home.. I am so thankful for taxis. We were going to go out, and I think a few people might have, but most of us headed home. I hate walking around after dark by myself, so that is mostly why I didn't want to go. Plus, I am 100% going out tomorrow and Saturday, and that would be too much going out for me haha.
Again, I don't know what to do tomorrow. I don't know if I should walk down to the ocean again or ride the bus to the beach or read or sleep or what. I need something to do here! I want to work for families by teaching English to their children, but I haven't found any yet. So far tomorrow, I plan to sleep in (since it is already 2am here), eat, and figure out what to do for the rest of the day. Exciting life, huh?
I have been thinking seriously about what I want to do after I graduate. My mind is so muddled with thoughts that I don't even know where to begin. I'm not even sure where I want to live anymore. I want to live everywhere and do everything. One thing that I never thought about doing before now is to teach English in Spain to children. I think that would be so cool! ..but then again, I don't know. Maybe I want to work for Microsoft.. or be a professor in London.. or do some other work in Spain. I guess I am meant to attempt to figure these things out while here. Right now, they're just bothering me.

Buenas noches,
Lynne

1 comment:

  1. Oh Lynne, You don't have to "figure" it out right now! Just enjoy your time there and learn all you can. You will have a FAB senior year at Vandy too. There's plenty of time to figure out which direction you want to go. Just relax and enjoy the adventure. It's all about the journey, not the destination. . . . LOVE U & MISS U TONS!! Mom (your biggest fan <3 )

    ReplyDelete