Today was great. I think I overcame my jetlag by sleeping for 11 hours. I tried to use the shower earlier, but the water never warmed up and felt like it was about 35 degrees, so that was a no go. They told me it works if you leave it on for a really long time. I shall test that out tomorrow morning. I went to el metro (train) to catch a train to go to orientation class today. I went with Hannah (another Vandy student) and her host mom, because she helped us get discount cards at the station. The subway was awesome, very fast, and very clean. The school was built in the 70's so it is a little dated but still nice, especially the mountains that are behind it. Our class was just us 4 Vandy students with the director, Juan Miguel. He is very good with us and speaks slowly which makes my life so much easier! I finally got some Euros out of an ATM which also makes my life much easier. They don't really accept cards or American cash anywhere except for the touristy places. The 4 of us walked around UIB for a while, basking in the sun, until it was time for lunch. We all headed home to eat lunch (during which I was served cream of zucchini soup -- sooo yummy, grilled chicken, and mashed potatoes -- which threw me completely off especially when she asked if I liked mashed potatoes -- si!!!).
We reunited around 4 and took off on a grand walking excursion. I am so surprised that I was able to keep up with everyone quite easily, because we walked for almost 2 hours straight. We walked through many narrow streets observing everyone and eventually got to the big cathedral and the sea around sunset. It was so lovely! I want to go back again, because of course, I forgot my Nikon DSLR and we also want to tour the cathedral. It was so nice seeing such a lovely sea, because I had not seen an ocean in years.
We found an H&M. I am so excited to know there is one here, because I can get almost anything there that I need for relatively cheap. I bought a short navy blue belted jacket and a navy striped top also for a reasonable price. Oh, I almost forgot! I purchased some Kinder Surprise (or "sorpresa" here) eggs at a little store/bar (almost every little store is a bar also). I immediately freaked out upon seeing them about bought 4 but have only consumed one due to much self control. Another thing I love is that you can buy Freixenet cava in almost any store, including bakeries (though I have not consumed any alcohol.. yet).
We also went to a 100+ year old cafe that serves ensaimadas (a local specialty pastry), hot chocolate, and coffee. I had a hot chocolate even though I also wanted an ensaimada, but I figured that would be too much sugar at once. That hot chocolate was one of the best things I have ever had. I had to eat it with a spoon, because it was so thick and rich. It was like a melted chocolate bar with spices. Amazing. I will definitely indulge in a few more of those.
After that, we went to visit the host mom of one of the girls, because she loves visitors. We stayed there for a long time, touring her house and just talking to her which was very nice. I felt bad because I told my host family I would like dinner around 9, but I didn't get back until around 10 because the other host mom loves to talk. They said they were worried, and I apologized but everything was okay and I ate yet another delicious meal while I had a nice conversation with my host mom.
I have noticed my Spanish is so much better even in the past day. I am constantly thinking in Spanish and trying to figure out the meanings of words that I don't know. I talk to my Vandy student friends mostly in English but mixing in Spanish when we want to. I desperately need some English after all this Spanish.
Also, I have never known what it is like for every single person to stare at you all the time, but now I do. I am so blatantly foreign, but I love it except that I think everyone stereotypes me. It is kind of hard to miss me in a sea of tan, brown-haired people. Also, my skin feels SO GOOD. It is not dry or flaky at all and also not too oily. My hair is also not drying out. Amazing!
I wasn't going to write this tonight, but I started and couldn't stop myself. I must go to bed, because I need to wake up in about 7 hours.. yikes! Buenas noches.
-Lynne (P.S. no one can pronounce my name here.)
:)
ReplyDeleteI miss you bebe!
Miss you too!! Come visit. :)
ReplyDelete